What Did McCarthy Promise The Never Kevins?

After 15 rounds of voting, the longest House speaker contest in 164 years, Kevin McCarthy has finally won the speakership of the House of Representatives. After a long, tumultuous, and occasionally violent journey, McCarthy became House speaker on Friday night, convening the 118th Congress.

Kevin McCarthy Finally Wins Speaker Of The House

Round 15 was sure to be it, with congress chanting one more round. It was the Democrats that were pushing the 15th round. Perhaps sensing an end in sight when Matt Gaetz (R-FL) and Lauren Boebert (R-CO) voted present in the 14 round.